An Overview Of FSSC 22000 Version 6


The Foundation FSSC 22000 published a new version V6 of the certification scheme for the food safety management system in April 2023. The update is done to match the latest GFSI benchmarking requirements, by incorporating requirements of ISO 22003-1:2022 and strengthening the requirements to support organizations to meet sustainable development goals apart from editorial changes and amendments as part of continuous improvement.

The Scheme consists of:

  • 5 Parts, 5 Annexures, and 2 Appendices in the document.

The categories as per V.6 are as below and well aligned with ISO:22003-1:2022

  • Handling of Plant Products (B)
  • Food Manufacturing (Category C)
  • Animal Feed Production (Category D)
  • Catering (Category E)
  • Trading, Retail, Wholesale and E-commerce (Category F)
  • Transport and Storage (Category G)
  • Production of Food Packaging and Packaging Materials (Category I)
  • Production of bio/chemicals (Category K)

Organizations undergoing the certification have to ensure that they meet the Additional Requirements as per FSSC V6 which are listed below. Few of these requirements are applicable to all the categories and few are specific to specific categories.

  • Management of the Services and Purchased Materials
  • Product Labelling and Printed Materials
  • Food Defense
  • Food Fraud Mitigation
  • Logo Use
  • Management of Allergens
  • Environmental Monitoring
  • Food Safety & Quality Culture
  • Quality Control
  • Transport, Storage and Warehousing
  • Hazard Controls and Measures for Preventing Cross-Contamination
  • PRP Verification
  • Product Design & Development
  • Health Status
  • Equipment Management
  • Food Loss and Waste
  • Communication Requirements
  • Requirements for Organizations with Multi-site Certification

Launch your GraphyLaunch your Graphy
100K+ creators trust Graphy to teach online
Food Safety Works Academy 2024 Privacy policy Terms of use Contact us Refund policy